facup65.jpg (8386 bytes)

1965.jpg (17056 bytes)

Bill Shankly (right) and Leeds Don Revie in front of
their teams entering Wembley Stadium in May 1965.

Until that day Liverpool never had won The FA Trophy.
And this final became both dramatic and historic for
The Reds. Only five minutes into the game Gerry Byrne
broke his collarbone. 

However the tough Byrne continued since no substitutes were allowed. 0-0 at final time. Roger Hunt gave Liverpool 1-0 in the extra time, and Leeds equalised some minutes later.

Then Ian St. John scored the glory goal, which consolidated Liverpools victory. And Ron Yeats became the first Liverpool captain to lift the FA Cup Trophy.
Since then The Reds have won this trophy four times.
The Liverpool team who won the League
Championship 1965/66. 

Back row:
Gordon Milne, Gerry Byrne, Tommy Lawrence, Chris
Lawler, Ron Yeates, Willie Stevenson. 
Front row:
Ian Callaghan, Roger Hunt, Ian St. John, Tommy
Smith, Phil Thompson.

Liverpool won also The Championship in the 1963/64.
As FA Cup winner 65, Liverpool competed in The European Cup Winners Cup the following season. And with great success. 

They went all the way to the final. But here German Borussia Dortmund was a little too strong, and won 2-1 after extra time

Thor Zakariassen